PHS Digital Library: English 12: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde

Possible Research Questions/Topics

Duality of man
Are humans good because they want to be good or do they fear punishment?
How can the body and mind be at war with each other?
Nature vs. Nurture argument

Original research questions are encouraged and must be submitted for approval prior to beginning the paper.

Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
Call Number: EBK FIC STE

ISBN: 9781599740041

Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Click link for the eBook.
Dr. Jekyll, a genteel, respectable London physician is transformed into Mr. Hyde, a foul-tempered, uncouth degenerate.
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson; John Sessions (Narrated by)
Call Number: EAUDIO FIC STE

ISBN: 9789629548568

Publication Date: 2012-01-20

Click link for downloadable audio book.
Scientist Dr Jekyll discovers a way of changing his personality and becoming the violent and aggressive Mr Hyde. At the start, moving from one to the other is easy. But not for long. Both a psychological investigation and a thrilling story, the double nature of the hero has made him an iconic figure in literature.

Print Materials

Novels for Students by Elizabeth Thomason
Call Number: 809.3 NOV

ISBN: 0787648949

Publication Date: 2001-02-26

Each volume of Novels for Students contains easily accessible and content-rich discussions of the literary and historical background of 12 to 15 works from various cultures and time periods. Each novel included in this new resource was specially chosen by an advisory panel of teachers and librarians -- experts who have helped us define the information needs of students and ensure the age-appropriateness of this reference's content.

A few articles to get you started

On Duality

Saposnik, Irving S. "The Anatomy of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde." Short Story Criticism, edited by Jelena O. Krstovic, vol. 126, Gale, 2010. Gale Literature Resource Center, link.gale.com/apps/doc/H1420093720/GLS?u=port11162&sid=GLS&xid=1eb084fb. Accessed 23 Dec. 2020.Originally published in Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900.

On Morality (Good/Evil)

Rosner, Mary. "'A Total Subversion of Character': Dr. Jekyll's Moral Insanity." Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, edited by Kathy D. Darrow, vol. 228, Gale, 2010. Gale Literature Resource Center, link.gale.com/apps/doc/H1420101180/GLS?u=port11162&sid=GLS&xid=cc11a9a0. Accessed 23 Dec. 2020. Originally published in Victorian Newsletter, vol. 93, Spring 1998, pp. 27-31.

On Addiction (Body/Mind)

Wright, Daniel L. "'The Prisonhouse of My Disposition': A Study of the Psychology of Addiction in Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde." Short Story Criticism, edited by Jelena O. Krstovic, vol. 126, Gale, 2010. Gale Literature Resource Center, link.gale.com/apps/doc/H1420093725/GLS?u=port11162&sid=GLS&xid=45d2a7d6. Accessed 23 Dec. 2020. Originally published in Studies in the Novel, vol. 26, no. 3, Fall 1994, pp. 254-267.

E-Resources

Novels for Students by Elizabeth Thomason
Call Number: EBK 809.3 NOV

ISBN: 0787648949

Publication Date: 2001-02-26

Search the eBook for Jekyll & Hyde
Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde - Robert Louis Stevenson by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: EBK 823 STE

ISBN: 9781438149974

Publication Date: 2014-10-01

This eBook presents a new collection of full-length critical essays on Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, one of Robert Louis Stevenson's finest works and certainly his most influential. It is the tale of a respected doctor and scientist who learns how to transform himself into a creature of pure passion and evil. World-renowned scholar Harold Bloom offers an introduction to this valuable resource.

Academic Search Elite
Available through AskRI.
Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Combines Literature Research Center and our Gale literature resources into a single research environment. Integrates with Google Drive.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Look at an issue from multiple points of view.
Integrates with Google Drive. From Gale
Literary Reference Center
Full-text database that provides information and about authors, works of literature and literary criticism.
Literary Reference Center™ (LRC) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more. Available through AskRI.
Literature Resource Center
Literary Criticism. Integrates with Google Drive.
From Gale
Today's Science
Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.
From Infobase
TOPICsearch
Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.Available through AskRI

Having Trouble?

If some of the database links above don't work, you can access them through AskRI. You will need your public library card barcode or your zipcode to gain access. Click on EbscoHost.