Streaming Video for Education: History

Connect to American Experience

View complete episodes of select films from the acclaimed PBS documentary series. Download teacher's guides and go behind the scenes to learn more about the documentaries.

Connect to American Indian Film Gallery

Vintage, archival motion pictures offer rich perspectives on the American Indian experience. The site organizes titles by tribes, linking to films for more than 100 tribes. A text box to describe each film is nonfunctioning, providing only "lorum ipsum dolor" filler text as a place holder. Apart from what displays in the film itself, no additional information (publication date, running time, etc.) is provided.

Connect to American Memory Collection

Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library of Congress's 10 American Memory collections:

• America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
• American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
• Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916
• Inside an American Factory: Films of the Westinghouse Works, 1904
• Last Days of a President: Films of McKinley and the Pan-American Exposition, 1901
• Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
• Origins of American Animation
• Prosperity and Thrift: the Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
• Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
• Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film

Connect to American Rhetoric

Features a growing collection of text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches. The site provides access to "public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events." Includes sections for Christian rhetoric, "Top 100 Speeches," "Rhetorical Figures in Sound," "Rhetoric of 9-11," and more. Notable is the selection of speeches from movies, arranged alphabetically by title.

Not all speeches have accompanying videos. Site supported by advertising, and maintained by a speech communication professor.

Connect to C-SPAN Video Library

Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.

Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.

Connect to Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive

From the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, the Scripps archive provides a unique collection of material on U.S. public policy.

The Library's collection includes streaming video of State of the Union addresses from Kennedy to Obama.  The multimedia archive also includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.