U.S. History Research Paper: Using Databases

Having Trouble?

If some of the database links above don't work, you can access them through AskRI. You will need your public library card barcode or your zipcode to gain access.

Using a research database is a great way to find magazine, journal and news articles, as well as eBooks, recommended websites, primary sources and other reputable or scholarly information. Keep in mind, these sources often count as PRINT sources.

You have access to many research databases through both Portsmouth High School and the public library.*  The databases on this page have been selected because they contain content that is most relevant to your research and topic. 

* If you can't remember the username/password to use the databases, please see Mrs. Hunicke or Ms. Cabral in the library.

Don't forget to check your local public library to see what other great resources your local library has to offer!

Here are some things to keep in mind while searching databases:

• Start with more general search terms (search terms are things like author, title, subject and keyword); this will not limit your results so quickly.
• Consider limiting your results to full-text so that when you find the perfect article, you can actually access the whole thing.
• As you begin to locate and review the materials your search produces, you can adjust your search terms accordingly.
• More general and fewer search terms will yield a higher number of results; more specific and a greater number of search terms will yield fewer and more focused results. 
• As you become more of an expert in your topic, your research will naturally become more focused.