American author pages, timeline, literary movements and a directory of American Literature websites. There is a site update weblog as well. Maintained by Donna Campbell, Washington State University.
These are some great websites to get you started. Some of these websites may lead you to other sites that are not as good. Be prepared to evaluate each website you use.
This online book is a research and reference tool. The ten chapters represent the major literary and historical perspectives, cycles, or movements in American literature. The twenty-two appendices cover a range of topics in genre studies, writing assignments, research topics, and perspectives related to American studies.
A refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. Includes bibliographies, scholarly articles and criticism, conference information, WWW resources, and reviews. You can keyword search electronic texts.
This course-related site is composed of "papers, texts and notes on them, and links" that explore representative authors and the influence of the Transcendental movement in American Literature. Sections feature authors, texts, roots and influences, ideas.
A searchable scholarly project from University of Indiana featuring highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century, that include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama
Provides resources about artists and writers, contains biographical and critical analysis, pedagogical information, and histories of translation. VG archives recorded sound, film, and image collections, interviews, and online conversations with web logs.
